Contributor

Re: How to Give a Cat a Pill

There is a pharmacy in NJ that will compound the medication for your pets and will put into a liquid form and flavor it with chicken or fish flavor.  They send it to you along with a small thin syrige that is marked for dosage.  The pharmacy is  Wedgwood Pharmacy.    It is so much easier to get this in the cat than a pill.  I've been using their service for about five years now, and I"ve never been disapointed in their service.  Like any pharmacy, your vet will have to call in the order, and then Wedgewood calls you back to get your card number and your request for either chicken or fish flavor.  If you have ever had to take a steroid for any reason, the taste is just awful and so are some other pills.  Wedgewood has been a life savor for my furbabies.  Wedgewood also has a web page so you can look them up on line.  Great place.

Trusted Contributor

@KingstonsMom of course your list forgot one important last effort.

After all pills have been wasted, fingers bitten, household items scratched, 

Take cat to vet office - pay them $50 for an office visit to give cat the pill. somehow those crazy cats always seem to take pills in the office so the vet can't understand why you can't do it at home. JK of course.

I have given tons of meds to my cats and they all have a different reaction. I find that dropping it into the throat and holding their mouth closed for a few seconds and blowing into their nostrils gets them to swallow. (most times). 

some of the meds are vile tasting and I wouldn't ake them either. Cat LOL

I'm done with P.C. Just say what you mean and mean what you say. It's easier.
Honored Contributor

@60sgirl

You are so right, LOL!

She was at her wit's end Sunday and planned to do just that Monday morning, take him back to the vet and at least pay a charge for a vet tech to help her!