Respected Contributor

Re: NYC Jewelry District 47th Street Experience

I agree with those who bought their silver for the enjoyment of the piece, not the resale value. But I am not rich, and I am not stupid, so I stopped buying it when the price bore no relation to the real value in the marketplace. I reasoned that my money was better spent on something else, and if I really wanted something new, costume was not so bad. I still love some of the designers' designs, and mourn the loss of their desire to reach the middle class customer with reasonable prices, which made it possible for me to buy and wear it.

Honored Contributor

I will chime in, though I have no experience with selling any jewerly in NY.  

I have upon occasion attempted to sell both gold and silver, and even some smaller diamonds and have had little success.  

I have had basically the same experience with silver as all of you have had.  It is treated as if it were junk.  Not worth anything.  I think this is terrible considering that the price of silver jewelry is atrocious these days.  Of course, I am dating myself, but not that many years ago, one could buy all sorts of nice silver jewelry very reasonably.  I have always loved silver ever since I can remember and it really looks better on me.  But once the price shot up, I can't even afford to buy any decent silver pieces.  Now, hearing and seeing that our silver pieces are not considered worth anything is very disheartening!!!

I had a few very signifcant and heavy pieces of gold jewelry that I wanted to sell a couple of years back, as I no longer wore them.  I eventually did sell them, but did not get even close to what I should have.  

Of course, we usually don't buy jewelry with the intent of thinking what we can sell the pieces for, but there are times when the items are not worn any longer and you think it might be better to see if you can make some money from them.  Sadly, you might as  well just hang on to them.