Respected Contributor

Design experts, need your help RE: Kitchen baseboard color

To set a visual... We had hardwood floors in a walnut sorta color (not to dark and not light) We have Espresso Cabinets and a Lighter color granite countertop.

We replaced all the interior doors in our house and painted them a milky white (not bright white but not beige either) we did ALL our baseboards in our house in the same color and it looks fantastic.

BUT, now we are to the kitchen, time to trim it.....Should we stain/paint them the same color as the cabinets and have the baseboards blend in with the cabinets? I just cannot imagine putting the milky white under those dark cabinets, I can't even visualize that!!

So, I'm here to ask.......what should we do? I'm no design expert, I've google'd and looked at photo's and my hunch says to paint them to blend in with the cabinets....

Respected Contributor

Re: Design experts, need your help RE: Kitchen baseboard color

Are you talking about the toe kick under the cabinets?

The toe-kick should match the cabinet.

Respected Contributor

On 4/3/2015 Abrowneyegirl said:

Are you talking about the toe kick under the cabinets?

The toe-kick should match the cabinet.

Never heard it called that before but Ya, Its the board that trims along the floor and very bottom of your cabinets.

I have a end cap that is just one solid piece of Espresso cabinet (like the back of it) and I was trying to picture that milky white on tehre and I'm like...OH GOSH NO!!! So, that's why hubby and I have been trying to figure out what to do. I am thinking you are right, paint them the same color as cabinets. Oh joy - more painting!

Respected Contributor

I have the baseboards painted white with the quarter round on top of baseboard stained to match the cabinets.

Respected Contributor

Respected Contributor

On 4/3/2015 Hoovermom said:

Image result for quarter round on top of baseboard pictures