Honored Contributor

Pricing For Tailoring/Alterations

If anyone feels comfortable sharing what you pay on average. Disclaimer-I think this work is an art form and well worth the compensation. I have no talent for sewing in any form and truly appreciate those who do.

I am having a dress altered for a special night out with my Mom. Hers is having minor alterations to the bust on the jacket and dress-$25. I have a long dress that needs to be taken in at the bust and partially down before the waist. I wanted length off, a little over an inch, so I don't have to wear really high heels. The dress has a drapey chiffon like layer over the base. 70 dollars total for mine! I wasn't expecting that. She gave me the receipt and that was the first mention of cost. My mistake for not asking previous to that of course. It was awkward, small shop with multiple customers and one rather annoying one who thought she was the only one in the shop...long story.

I am a novice at this, I usually just live with things the way they fit off the rack. It's a local tailor and the only place I went to. Well worth it for this dress, because believe it or not it's a $189 dress that I paid $26. 85 for from Nordstrom Rack. Sells for that at regular Nordstroms. So I don't want to cheap out about the alterations, just wondering what prices usually are.

My mother has gone to another local tailor years ago to have wool blazers altered, I believe it was at least $20 per jacket.

"If you really want to shock the world unleash your kindness"
Respected Contributor

Re: Pricing For Tailoring/Alterations

Usually the only thing I need altered is the length of my slacks.  The charge is $14.  I take this cost into consideration when I'm buying new slacks.

Esteemed Contributor

I agree that is a lot of money, but it is easier to make a garment form scratch than it is to alter an already made garment.