Valued Contributor

Can Anyone Recommend A Good Bra?

First off, I need to say that I am a 42D. I am not obese. I am 6' tall with a fairly large rib cage and big boobs. They don't hang (yet) even though I'm 64 years old. I have been wearing Genie bras for a couple of years, but I don't really think they give me enough support....too much going off to the side for me. I have tried a zillion bras. I don't particularly like underwires, but mostly what I object to are MULTIPLE hooks on the back once you get into the bigger sizes. I understand support, but 4 hooks???  Three would be okay....but oh for the days of 2 hooks. I think because I am a tall woman, the bras I try always seem to fit oddly.....like the cups are too close together or the straps are too short unless I put them on their longest possible length. Mostly I just wish I could find comfort AND support. Is it a pipedream?

Respected Contributor

Re: Can Anyone Recommend A Good Bra?

Chantelle Rive Gauche.  They are at major department stores.  I buy mine at Nordstrom during the anniversary sale, but they also price match a few times a year to other department stores.  They are a bit pricy, but so worth it.  I get measured for them because fit is so important.  I wear the all lace one, but they have tee shirt bras too.  They are underwire and great for larger sizes. 

Respected Contributor

Try the HerRoom site. Wacoal might work, they also have less expensive bras.

Honored Contributor

My absolute favorite bra is Wacoal, 855192. You can buy it directly from their site. If you decide you like it, you'll be able to buy them, new with tags, from eBay, usually, for less. Amazon also carries this style.  

I believe your size will have 3 hooks. I can't stand the 4 hook bras. 

Why is it, when I have a 50/50 guess at something, I'm always 100% wrong?
Trusted Contributor