Respected Contributor

A few months ago, my Win7 laptop slowed to a crawl on web sites. I also could no longer install updates -- the update screen was essentially frozen, it wouldn't move. Malwarebytes scan was negative.  At that time, I spent hours on the phone with Microsoft, who "overhauled" my software and everything was fine after that. Until now.....

The same exact thing has happened since a couple of days ago. System slow and I can't install updates. This time, I decided to do a System Restore, which I've never done before. I restored back to the last software update, which was 9/6/16. Malwarebytes scan again is negative, but there is no resolution to this problem.

1) Should I do another System Restore and choose a date further back in time?

2) When you revert back to a previous date, doesn't it delete those software updates that you installed after that date as well?  Leaving you vulnerable?

I think it's time to take a look at a Chromebook.

Walking the dog, so will be back later.

Honored Contributor

Re: System Restore Questions

You've mentioned running Malwarebytes several times, but you've never mentioned running an antivirus program. Malwarebytes is for malware, but you need a separate antivirus program.

Do you have one and have you run that? I recommend doing that before you do anything else.

You can run multiple system restores. And yes, anything you installed after the restore point will need to be added again, so run a Windows update after you do a system restore to make sure you download any security patches.

I would run an antivirus and see if that comes up with anything before running another system restore.

Honored Contributor

Are you keeping things cleaned out?  I like CCleaner for that, and then do a defrag (Auslogics is a good one).    I do this fairly often - especially after I've been to my bank account and when there have been a bunch of updates.