Esteemed Contributor

We currently have a lifetime XM subscription (don't think that's available now) and so far we have gotten 335000 miles of radio out of it (we are on the road a lot).  I  paid $300 for my subscription 10 years ago but when I buy a new car (won't be for a couple of years) I will negotiate hard with XM for the best rate.  We drive through desolate deserts and mountains and I won't be without my XM.

Honored Contributor

I've been listening to music on ipod and then iphone for more than 10 years. I have a cd drive in my car but I never use it. It's so much better and easier to just listen to playlists through my car stereo. 

I'd download itunes and create a library and rip all my music onto my computer. Or get an Apple Music subscription. I have both. 

Don't Change Your Authenticity for Approval
Respected Contributor

My Forester did come with a 3 month free subscription (good until 4/20/17) to SiriusXM, but I have yet to play with it, &  I really don't want to pay for radio anyway, since like I said, i'm not a big radio listener.  My saleslady synched my iPhone up to the car when I took delivery & the car has Bluetooth, HD Radio & a bunch of other stuff that I don't know what it is, so that part is already done.  I never had an iPod or MP3 player, so this is foreign territory for me!  The CDs I carried in my old car were self burned copies, so i haven't uploaded to anything before for playback on other devices, so i need to learn to do that.  I do have iTunes on my desktop, but haven't used or played with it.  I got a haircut today & my stylist suggested I go to the Apple Store & have them help me or maybe, they have classes on these things for old tech challenged people such as I!  

Respected Contributor

@jaxs mom wrote:

I've been listening to music on ipod and then iphone for more than 10 years. I have a cd drive in my car but I never use it. It's so much better and easier to just listen to playlists through my car stereo.