Esteemed Contributor

IPhone help please -- Sim cards

I think I will make a trip to the Apple Store locally but wondered if anyone could give me any info here first.

I am Canadian and will be traveling to Maine/New Hampshire area soon.  I have an unlocked iPhone 6+.  This is my first smart phone.  I will be in the U.S. For 4-5 days.  I am aware that I can get a U.S. SIM card for my phone and replace the current one to avoid roaming charges, etc.

Can anyone tell me who has the best coverage.  Who should I absolutely avoid?  I am looking to use the phone, text a bit and have data.  I am not a heavy user of any one of these features.  Where should I go to buy the U.S. SIM card?  Can I reuse it next trip or do I have to buy another one?

Newbie here.  Any advice greatly appreciated.  TIA.  LM

Respected Contributor

Re: IPhone help please -- Sim cards

I use AT&T.

Esteemed Contributor

[ Edited ]

I have Verizon. VZW has a larger network. It depends where you are traveling which network works best. It does depend which network your phone runs with GSM ( ATT) or CDMA(VZW). Please go to Apple and ask for help.

Valued Contributor

Verizon--but do as nutmeg3 posted.  Visit Apple and you can always check out the websites of each carrier.  HTH

Respected Contributor

Why don't you get an international plan?  That's what I do when I travel. 

Esteemed Contributor

Good morning all. Thanks for the feedback and info.  Here is what I have learned.  Verizon and AT&T are the biggest, most coverage, least dropped calls, zones, etc.  Sprint lags behind the top 2 but is less expensive.  T-Mobile ranks after these three and there are complaints about poor coverage and dropped calls.

I can buy a SIM card just about anywhere as was pointed out ... Best Buy, Walmart, Kiosks, etc.  My phone can run with GSM or CDMA.  I should pop my SIM card out before I cross the border and substitute a US one.

I chatted online with Apple and have an appointment at the Apple Store Monday.