Regular Contributor

Wish I Could Be Happy On My Birthday Today

Hello Everyone! I turn the whopping 52 today, but struggle to be happy. The weather makes it impossible to do anything and I suppose watching my mother's health fail is dragging down my spirits. I've been caring for her for 20 years since my dad died and the last few years she has been in a facility. I spend a lot of time there to make sure her care is the best. I feel like I will be an orphan soon. As most women I give before I think about myself. I love her dearly and it's painful watching her decline. 

If you lovely people could send some kind words, it would truly make my day! Blessing to all!!! 

Respected Contributor

Re: Wish I Could Be Happy On My Birthday Today

@angel8 wrote:

Hello Everyone! I turn the whopping 52 today, but struggle to be happy. The weather makes it impossible to do anything and I suppose watching my mother's health fail is dragging down my spirits. I've been caring for her for 20 years since my dad died and the last few years she has been in a facility. I spend a lot of time there to make sure her care is the best. I feel like I will be an orphan soon. As most women I give before I think about myself. I love her dearly and it's painful watching her decline. 

If you lovely people could send some kind words, it would truly make my day! Blessing to all!!! 

Happy Birthday to you!  I am saddened to hear how you feel. I also lost my father a few years back and now am dealing with my mom and her second husband who's health is failing.

I think it is important to do something for yourself. After all, you cannot be at your best if you do not think of yourself from time to time. You must have had very caring parents for your to  be so caring yourself. In that light, I have a strong feeling that your mom would want you to do  something that would brighten up your spirits.

The day is still young and so are you! Go out and do something for yourself.

Happy, Happy Birthday.