Respected Contributor

Why can't I adjust my preferences?

I really want posts to be lined up so that the newest ones are first.

I haVE indicated this in the preferences section--I've done this 7 or 8 times--and I click "save" and still the posts are lined up with the oldest ones first.

WHAT AM I DOING WRONG?

Honored Contributor

Re: Why can't I adjust my preferences?

[ Edited ]

First, let me say I'm no techie, so this is just a guess on my part, based on what I've found with my settings so far.

I think sometimes to have things set up the way you want (or the way you think they should be), you have to change more than one setting in Preferences.  Try going to Preferences, then go through each sub-catagory and look to see what is currently set and what you may need to change to do what you want.  (Have I confused you yet?)

For instance, for what you're asking, I think maybe you might have to not only set the "Newest to Oldest" setting, but also click on "Show the Latest Post" setting, as well as "Show the Latest Topic" setting (under Home Page).  This is just a suggestion, because I don't know if that will change to what you want.  I'm only saying this because I couldn't get my home page to look like the old one, and when I did this, it worked.

If you're totally confused, I'm sorry.  I'm fumbling my way around here too.

ETA: And under "View All Forum Topics", click the drop-down to show "by post" and it will give you all the latest posts first.  Unfortunately, this one I think you have to do each time you log in.

Esteemed Contributor

The only thing I can think of is that maybe you have set this preference for TOPICS, but haven't set it for POSTS yet.  These are two different settings.  Or maybe that you didn't hit SAVE after you set the preference? HTH

"Breathe in, breathe out, move on." Jimmy Buffett
Esteemed Contributor