Honored Contributor

CB radio? Breaker breaker stuff? I'd love to hear those stories!!

We had one and messed with it mid to late 70's.

That was another time and place.

Did you, or do you now?

Honored Contributor

Negatory QG.

Respected Contributor

Re: Were you ever on a CB?

[ Edited ]

In the mid 70s i traveled with my job in the state of Texas.  I was a newbie at the time and was always a passenger in the car.  The guys all had cb radios.  It was a fun way to pass the time on the highway.  One night coming back from Houston the cb traffic alerted us to an enormous forrest fire up ahead.  And just in the nick of time a trucker let us know to pull over because deer were running across the highway!  Would have had some great pictures if we had had cell phones then.  

Honored Contributor

@deepwaterdotter wrote:

Negatory QG.

Thank you I love that! Hahahahaha

Respected Contributor

great thread!

my handle  was the Suntan Kid   

kept a look-out for the plain brown wrappers

left from  the Quad-cities - we hauled a load of wheat flour headed south to D town

turnaround was a full load of watermelons

i even drove the rig myself 30 miles through OK on a 2-laner with swamps on each side! it was something like 16 gears. eyes on the road, hands on the wheel at 10 and 2 and pray!!!

Honored Contributor

My husband had a CB radio in his pickup during the years he worked in the coal mines.   I liked to turn it on and listen to the activity, but never talked to anyone.  

Our youngest daughter drives a big rig to the west coast each week, and uses the radio a lot.   Around here, CB's and scanners don't seem to be as popular as they once were.   

Honored Contributor

@deepwaterdotter wrote:

Negatory QG.

Wish I would have started the thread - this is the Best Answer - I really belly laughed.

There are many elements: wind, fire, water
But none quite like the element of surprise
Honored Contributor

Re: Were you ever on a CB?

[ Edited ]