Honored Contributor

Thinking about leaving my job forever

I have been working for a health insurance company for 27 years.  I am thinking about retiring  on Monday.  I have been on vacation for the past 3 weeks and I have had time to think about my future.  I don't want to work full time any longer. 

My husband just retired in April.  I'd like to spend time with him and travel more often.  We are both healthy and active.  Wish me luck.

Valued Contributor

Re: Thinking about leaving my job forever

@Carmie wrote:

I have been working for a health insurance company for 27 years.  I am thinking about retiring  on Monday.  I have been on vacation for the past 3 weeks and I have had time to think about my future.  I don't want to work full time any longer. 

My husband just retired in April.  I'd like to spend time with him and travel more often.  We are both healthy and active.  Wish me luck.

I can understand wanting to retire after working for 27 years.  Do you mean give notice to your company that I will not be working after one month or two weeks?

Valued Contributor

Carmie,

If you thought it over, discussed it with your husband, and have the financial resources and health coverage to retire, go for it.  Life is too short not to enjoy and savor every moment.  You are blessed to have your husband,  I quit my job long before I was of retirement age because my husband was ill.  If I didn't take care of him, he would have had to be placed in a facility and that was absolutely unacceptable to me.  Do I have a lot less pension; Yes?  Do I have any regrets; No?  Would I do it again in a heartbeat; Yes?  I did what I had to do and wanted to do.  Treasure every moment you have with your dear husband.  Good luck to both of you.  God bless.   docsgirl

Honored Contributor

@Carmie

If you have been thinking about it for quite awhile before you went on vacation and have been feeling like -- now is the time, then it sounds like you are ready to make a move!