Valued Contributor

I am so angry and disappointed with Amazon, and I don't know where to complain.

I'm a writer with several books on Amazon. A friend's daughter read two of mine and wanted to leave a review, but their policy is you can't leave reviews unless you've bought a minimum of $50 from Amazon in the past year.

Frankly, that stinks (pardon my French).  They're hot to get authors to publish on their site, but we depend on reviews and this policy is not author-friendly.

QVC Customer Care

This post has been removed by QVC not nice/unkind

Respected Contributor

@zitawins   Although it might be incredibly upsetting and frustrating for the author, Amazon most likely wants actual customers reviewing the book instead of random people coming on with loads of bad or good reviews to promote or bash the book.

"Justice will not be served until those who are unaffected are as outraged as those who are." BF
Trusted Contributor

@Mersha wrote:

@zitawins   Although it might be incredibly upsetting and frustrating for the author, Amazon most likely wants actual customers reviewing the book instead of random people coming on with loads of bad or good reviews to promote or bash the book.

That is absolutely the reason. I know someone who has a few books on Amazon and they had told me that a long time ago. They need to be very careful about fake reviews.
Honored Contributor

All you can do is complain to Amazon.  

Valued Contributor

Good luck with Amazon reviews.  For some reason I keep getting locked out of reviews although I've never left a negative review.  I have contacted them in the past and had it straightened out and it ends up back the same way.  Believe me, I buy more than $50  weekly!.  I have given up.  Sorry for those who I would like to give a good review but until they make it easier to contact them I just won't review.

Trusted Contributor