Super Contributor

Every year around this time, I hear parents complaining about what's on the school supply list or what teachers do with the supplies.  Do you think teachers ask for too much sometimes?  Any stories from when you were buying supplies for your kids?

I teach - what's your superpower?
Super Contributor

I am a teacher and a mother.  I never complain as a parent because as a teacher, I know that my students use everything that I request.  I teach middle school, so my supplies are just a small part of the team list.  I also know how much money I spend on pencils and paper as so many students come without them each day.  Usually things go well during the first semester, but the second half of the year, kids run out of the supplies and I have to fill in the gaps.  This is getting more and more difficult as we haven't received a raise in 8 years.  Actually we have gotten a couple of raises, but our health insurance has eaten the raise and more each time. 

Honored Contributor

My son who just turned 32 this month still remembers "school supply shopping day"  I always made a big deal about and treated him to lunch at his choice of restaurants.  Also would hit the arcade or whatever fun place he wanted to go too.  Then we would sit at the pool as soon as we got home after our full day of just the two of us.  It helped to take the sting out of what the real purpose of the day was for.

I warms my heart to know he remembers those school supply days as Mom and Son days.

"Live frugally, but love extravagantly."
Honored Contributor

Re: School Supply Stories!

[ Edited ]

@brownponytail80 wrote:

Every year around this time, I hear parents complaining about what's on the school supply list or what teachers do with the supplies.  Do you think teachers ask for too much sometimes?  Any stories from when you were buying supplies for your kids?