Honored Contributor

Re: Sarah Jessica Parker Re: Epi Pen hike

Good move by SJP.

Of course - it's easy for her to take the high road and giv up that endorsement.  She can afford whatever medicine costs.

We have bizarre values sometimes.  It's good, we think, for stars and athletes to earn millions and millions.  It's not good for scientitists and pharm company employees to earn similar salaries. 

Only government can come in and solve this -  but we don't seem to want big government any longer, so things could get far worse before thy get better again.

Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

@Disneylandfan wrote:

A problem I see with using a syringe versus the epi pen is hesitation.  I'm a teacher and while the epi pen still causes apprehension you're not seeing the needle so it's easier to administer.

I say this because I used to have to give my horse shots weekly.  The first few times was really difficult-and we're talking about a large animal that hardly felt the injection.  It took several times before I didn't feel apprehensive and hesitated.  Most likely most teachers are not going to have that type of practice.

Now make that a child and you're the teacher in a life saving moment.  Trying to inject a syringe is mentally very difficult.  I think the epi pen's allure is that you don't see the injection so the scariness is reduced.

@Disneylandfan I so agree with this.  I took care of my mom for a long time and she was very not interested in eating healthy for the last 15 years of her life.  As her diabetes worsened, I was confronted with having to give her insulin shots which I totally freaked out over.  I had a hard enough time taking her daily blood tests with the pin ******.

I am ashamed to say God bless Januvia as it brought her levels back down to a normal range but again with a better diet this expensive drug would not have been necessary.

Respected Contributor

@Noel7 wrote:

@pitdakota wrote: