Respected Contributor

Re: RE: Terminal Illness - Would you want to hear the truth from your doctor?

I can definitively say "yes" I want to know. I am a home health nurse and have been with many people throughout the dying process. I do not want unnecessary treatment, I want to say my goodbye's and have my family and friends feel comfortable talking to me. I have a friend who had stage 4 colon cancer and she thought she would live, her chemo treatments were $28,000 a month, she lived 9 months, sick from chemo. I am never going to do that. 

Respected Contributor

I don't necessarily need to know - bc I've already had my wakeup call - in February 2017, I will be 5 years cancer free.  My mother died from the disease over 40 years ago and I had been strongly monitored since I was 18.   Though it was verified that it was cancer, it took close to 7 weeks for the pathology results to come back - bc my tumor was tiny and extremely aggressive and the doctors were shocked bc I was end stage IIIc. 

I had two surgeries, 8 chemo sessions,37 radiation treatments and I'm now on hormone therapy to prevent a recurrence.  From that point forward I am that person who has literally lived EVERY day as if it were my last.  I've done a LOT of travlling to see/do things on my bucket list bc when my time comes, it's too late to whine about what I coulda/shoulda/woulda done!

Respected Contributor

I absolutely would want to know.  I am also someone who does NOT ever want to lose my independence because of age.  I don't think negative of anyone wanting to live to be 100.  I just don't want to be one of them. 

Respected Contributor

@Ms X wrote:

@Trinity11 wrote: