Honored Contributor

Re: Could You Pass A 1954 Home Economics Class?

That was fun, thanks!  I had Home Ec but it was coming to a close and I had cooking and sewing classes and that was it, it was the middle of the 60's and I guess it was running its course.  I hated the cooking part but loved sewing.  Today I'm a ho hum cook but have sewn my entire life.... heh.... go figure.... Woman Wink

*~"Never eat more than you can lift......" Miss Piggy~*
Honored Contributor

[ Edited ]

I - and the other girls - had to take home ec and the boys had to take mechanics.  Can you imagine? This was in junior high (we didn't have "middle school.").  

I remember sewing (making) my apron in class.

Honored Contributor

Question 13 ....  Three types of table service?   Sounds like a trick question.

I noticed a couple women wearing full slips.  My mother had several and, apparently, you always had to wear them.    Just curious .....  who still wears a full slip?   lol

Highlighted
Honored Contributor

@Pearlee, thanks!!! That was a lot of fun and insightful. I failed miserably but when I took home economics in the 70's, I got a C. Never could sew! Lol!!! 

Honored Contributor

Tee hee @Pearlee I was going to post this a while ago but I failed the test so miserably I changed my mind . . . it is a fun quiz isn't it, thanks for this post! . . . Smiley Happy

Honored Contributor

well I failed! My mother would "turn in her grave" as they say but then again this was before my time ...I wasn't born yet!!!

Although, she was a tickler for proper etiquette (sent my brother & me (or is that I) to classes every Saturday) and manners.  I remember at those classes I had to dance with my brother no wonder I'm not a great dancer! 😉

Fun test!

Esteemed Contributor

@IlliniGirl88 wrote:

@Pearlee  -  That was a fun test; I would have flunked!Woman LOL  What woman washes her hair only twice a month???  You're right, the pictures were funny.

@IlliniGirl88@Pearlee