Honored Contributor

Re: Do You Buy Your Books or Go To The Library?

I've never been big on buying fiction. It always seemed like a waste when I was going to read it once and that is all. 

I used to to get my books from the library or from friends who were passing on books they had. Now I get most on my Kindle for free and occasionally pay for a Kindle book. Once in a while I get a book (or DVD) from the library. 

Most of of the books I buy now are reference type books that I will use regularly.

Valued Contributor

Since I am a librarian, you already know my answer! Libraries are one of the best things that come from paying your taxes. I also don't suffer any guilt when I try a book and PTB after a few chapters...it didn't cost me anything. Plus, the ambiance of a library encourages sharing of favoite titles and authors with other like-minded readers--sort of like this forum!

Trusted Contributor

Both...I always try to get my books from the library.  Since I live in a small city, our library doesn't always have a book I'm looking for, but they are very helpful in locating the book for me in another library and getting it for me for only a $.50 charge.

If I'm wanting an out of print book, I go to ebay or another book webstore that carries out of print books and almost always get them at a VERY good price.

For gifts of course, I always purchase a brand new book at Amazon or our local book store.

Esteemed Contributor

I only go to the library anymore.  Now that I have moved and retired, there is a wonderful, large one very close by.  Actually it is on the way to the grandkids, so I am always going by.  But their electronic selection is very limited and I have been considering Amazon's lending programs.

Honored Contributor

I do not purchase books, I use digital subscription services for most of my reading, Playster, Scribd and Hoopla are very user friendly and also have audio books.

Esteemed Contributor