Valued Contributor

It's funny.  My friend and I were let go from our respective jobs within a year of each other.  I was a teacher and she worked in the non-profit sector in NYC and always wore suits, had her hair professionally colored, regular manis and pedis. I am a known skincare, make up and mani person and I generally slap some eyemake up and blush, get my nails done religiously.  It didn't change for me once I was a stay at home-- Heck, I consider it a public service!

However, once my friend stayed at home AND became a two time grandmother thanks to her son she stopped all make up, hair care, manis pedis.  She looks about 10 years older and just doesn't care.  I would NEVER ask her why she stopped all the maintenance but one day over tea she said "I'm nanna now and I don't have to bother".

If she was happy, I would support her decision, but I know it almost killed her to lose her job.  She chose not to look for another one and stays home except for occasional visits to her out of state son.  There is an underlying sadness in her every day and I believe she is still depressed about the job loss.

When I'm depressed I go for manis, pedis or a professional jb, but ~shrug~ to each their own. She' a beautiful person without make-up but she just doesn't care anymore.To each their own.

Regular Contributor

When I'm depressed (or not depressed,) I take the money saved from NOT having manis-pedis and donate it to a cause or person who is just barely surviving and having difficulty. 

It brings me great joy - not to mention inner and outer beauty, to know my money is going to provide food and care for a shelter animal, rehabilitation for a family who couldn't afford it after a medical crisis, basic health care needs for children in poverty around the world and many other causes.  I don't need my nails to be the latest shade of pink glitter this month.