Honored Contributor

Re: Question about Paula's weekly 10% AHA

@NativeJax wrote:
I feel stupid sometimes because I do not know all the acronyms....but I am really new to skincare so I would like to know the difference between them. Aha is alpha hydroxy and its to help with fading, right? My aunt gave me ambi to try but it's only been a week.
I only started really paying attention to my skin the past 6 months and now I seem obsessed with everything.

@NativeJax

AHA = Alpha Hydroxy Acid (includes glycolic acid, fruit acids, and lactic acid).  AHA's are exfoliants (slough off the dead skin cells from the surface).  To my understanding, they aren't typically thought of as skin lighteners except for the fact that they help the dead skin to shed and overtime the darkened areas will lessen as new skin comes to the surface.  You need a decent percentage of AHA for it to work.  It's also very common to feel some tingling.  With consistent use that tingling lessens.

Honored Contributor

@Rachb wrote:
I'm not going to lie....I love how smooth my face felt after rinsing it off. It still felt smooth this morning.

@Rachb

I have both the Aha and the Bha and yes the Aha is 'stronger' but it does go away in a few seconds.

The 10% Aha body  lotion is phenomenal!

Trusted Contributor