Highlighted
Contributor

Pre-Coty Philosophy vs. Coty Philosophy. What's the difference?

Hey guys. I've mentioned quite a few times on these boards that I am relatively new to Philosophy (started using in mid-July) and read a lot about people saying they prefer Philosophy before Coty took over.

I'm just wondering what the differences are. I do know, from what many have said, that the Grace scents are different and smelled better prior to the company takeover, but are there any other differences? I'm curious. Also, when did Coty buy out Philosophy?

New Contributor

Re: Pre-Coty Philosophy vs. Coty Philosophy. What's the difference?

The sale was finalized in 2011.  I do agree that Falling in Love seems to have changed.  I don't like it anymore. Haven't noticed a difference in the others, personally.

Occasional Contributor

I use Pure Grace Body Wash, Body Lotion, Body Spray, scent, and spray body oil. I also use the Miracle Worker line of cleanser, retinol pads and moisturizers, Hope is not enough serum, hope i a tube and the exfoliating mask. I have not noticed a difference in the products I use since Coty took over.

Respected Contributor

I am a long time Philosophy user. To me, the core fragrances are as good now or better than when I first started using them. The recent whipped body cremes are the best. What has changed, in my opinion is the unique marketing that Cristina used. She had a gift that has not been matched. I miss the 3 in 1's that were available at that time, such as Black Licorice, Blueberry Cobbler are examples.

Super Contributor