Trusted Contributor

Re: Do you feel prettier if you have cosmetics on that are top dollar?

And there you are, spending more than you need to and feeling inadequate if you don't keep doing it. Their marketing campaigns worked, didn't they?

{#emotions_dlg.unsure}

Super Contributor

Never been a fan of drugstore cosmetics or skincare. Has nothing to do with how high end makes me ""feel"". Just like the quality.

Valued Contributor

Nope. Either way, cheap or more expensive, if my face is "done" a bit and my skin looks good, I feel good. {#emotions_dlg.thumbup}

Contributor

On 7/23/2014 Silver Lining said:
On 7/23/2014 kemiqueen said: Aww girl, just use what works best for u and don't get hung up on brand names. I'm a makeup artist, and my kit includes everything from drug store to professional labels. I don't turn away from trying something just bc the price is cheap. I look for things that don't irritate, have good color pay-off, and are long wearing. I do like pricier mascara bc I find it doesn't dry out as quickly and lashes seem healthier. Good quality brushes make a difference too. On a side note: My obsession with beauty has caused me so many problems, and I know how powerful the need to feel pretty can be. Don't let it rule your world. Best of luck to u, dear.

kemi, what are your favorite brands for brushes? I have a large variety, including even the ELF studio line which is actually good for my purposes. I have two or three cosmetic bags/cases that I keep stocked and ready since I have overnight trips several times a month.

Most of my brushes r Bare Minerals bc I used to work there and got a ton for free. I also like Too Faced "Teddy Bear Hair" brushes. They have super soft synthetic bristles if u like cruelty-free.
Honored Contributor

No, I don't really pay attention to that kind of thing- what makes me feel the best is having great looking skin and hair and staying in shape, the rest is gravy. Smiley Happy