Respected Contributor

Anti-Aging Skin Care Strategies: Hopes, Realities, Possibilities

Our skin ages: reality. We want our skin to be the best it can be: hopes. The possibilities, considering so MANY skin care vendors (!), can be overwhelming and confusing.

Everytime I read a thread about a particular skin care line, I see the it-works!! and the it-doesn't-work!! replies.

I want the best skin I can have at every age that I am privileged to attain. As a scientist, I suspect the wide differences in experiences often have less to do with the product than (1) how it was used, (2) how long the woman gave the product to see results, or (3) what, if anything, the woman was using before.

Reality: the differences we will see in our skin (age spots, dark areas, wrinkles, firmness, glow) from a non-prescription over-the-counter item will be small. But important. If people are expecting/hoping for major visible differences, there will be some disappointment. 

Strangely, the only way some will SEE the difference in these products (most of which do have some useful effects) is to use them on only one side of their face for a month. The best personalized home experiment available!

{I am currently using Dr. Perricone, happy with the results.}

Love to hear your thoughts on getting visibile results from skin care lines!

Respected Contributor

Re: Anti-Aging Skin Care Strategies: Hopes, Realities, Possibilities

Sunscreen and Hydration. Use a sunscreen daily around the eyes, over the face, neck and declote and the wrinkles will stay away or be minimal for a very long time. Keep the skin moist with a nice moisturizing product. I also believe in Vitaman C and Retinol. That is it.

Trusted Contributor

Sunscreen and Retin-A always work for me.

Originally joined board 12-14-2004
Regular Contributor