Trusted Contributor

Re: Question on Pension/Retirement Funds

Like others have said, you can't pass up 'free' money!  I've been putting in a retirement plan for 41 years that has been matched by my company and now I have a nice nest egg.  There have been lean times throughout the years (divorces and bankruptcy, to name a few) but I remember my dad telling me years and years ago - "No matter how bad it gets, never stop putting into your retirement plan that the company matches; you can't afford NOT to do it."

Honored Contributor

Thoughts about what?  it's mandatory so your only option is to quit the job and look for another one that doesn't have a mandatory retirement fund deduction.  You must have known about this before you accepted the job.

Trusted Contributor

Finding a job that offers a pension these days is a rarity. Most places have frozen pensions & replaced them with 401k's. I think you are fortunate to have a pension but I would be concerned with keeping it solvent. Perhaps that why the "mandatory" contributions. People are retiring earlier & living longer. Fewer employees paying in= more money going out than coming in.

I saw a segment on the news about people receiving notices their pensions would be cut by significant amounts with little or no notice. They assumed they were safe but apparently Congress failed to protect worker's pensions. (I would bet their pensions are secure though). What do they expect our senior citizens to do if their pensions are cut in half? Lot of them can't just go out & get a job. You work your whole life hoping to enjoy your retirement and then it's snatched away from you. Not fair.

Honored Contributor

YES @Tribesters, absolutely totally unfair. 

Respected Contributor

oh yes, it hurts! I imagine even more if you've been out of work! But, it is sooo worth it when you start collecting it!

Never underestimate the power of kindness.
Honored Contributor