Honored Contributor

Re: Do You Know Many Women over the Age of 45 Who Regret not Having Children?

@just bee wrote:

When I got out of college and started working I'd go out with the older women for dinner and, after a cocktail or two, they'd always say the same thing:

"Don't get me wrong -- I love my kids.  But if I had it to do all over again..."

That stuck with me.  I'm 56 and have no kids.  I now work as a psych nurse and I see a lot of kids and their parents and I'm convinced I made the right choice for myself.

I think it comes down to this: I would rather regret not having children than regret having them.  The thought of not having them occurred to me in September 1964.  I was four and it was my first day of kindergarten.  Every person I dated was informed that I had no desire to have children.  I was told by just about everyone that I would change my mind.  I never did. 

~My philosophy: Dogs are God's most perfect creatures. Angels, here on Earth, who teach us to be better human beings.~
Esteemed Contributor

@NC Bandwagon wrote:

Hello, DiscountDiva. Smiley Happy

I'm not so good at these kinds of subjects really. Smiley Tongue The only thing I can post is that once you're past the stage of being able to have children naturally and you still really, really, really, really want a child, you can always adopt.

Unless you turn 80 and then you decide you want children. You'll probably be too tired for kids by then, but you get my drift. Smiley LOL

No you can't adopt children past a certain age, probably 45 or so. There aren't a lot of orphanages these days anyway, that I know of.

Super Contributor

I am 49 and regret not having children. I regret spending so much time and effort on my career. I always wanted to get married and have children, but I felt like I was young, and that would happen eventually. But one day you wake up and you are 49.