Frequent Contributor
I'm new to WEN and so far I really love it. It dawned on me after a week that I wasn't losing hair like before. I was constantly picking hair off my clothes all day long which was so annoying! Even on my pillowcase in the morning. I must say it was an unexpected surprise to me. I'm using SAM and POM. I purchased the TT oil and I was wondering if anyone has had trouble with leaving the TT oil on their scalp overnight. I've used it three different nights (once a week) to encourage hair growth. The next day I clean thoroughly and my hair looks great but twice I've felt a sore spot on my scalp in two different places that feels like a small pimple. Yesterday I had only one spot but this time it felt like a bruised spot on my scalp. Like when you bump your head! Weird, huh?! The next day my scalp is just fine. Could I be using more than I should or massaging it in too much? Maybe overnight is too long for me. Just wondering if it's just me or have others had this happen. I'm excited to try other oils but I read the TT was good for hair growth. Thanks for any help.
Super Contributor

If you're not getting irritation all over, I wouldn't think you would be having a reaction to the tea tree. Since it's only in a spot or two and goes away the next day, it may be that you are massaging too hard, maybe you scratched your scalp with your nails. Or it may be that the oil is loosening up some dead skin and those are the bumps and tender spots.

Respected Contributor

I use TT oil as an overnight approximately 3 times a week and have not had any issues like those you describe. In fact, it is the opposite: my scalp feels great in the morning. Maybe you should lay off a couple of days and make sure your scalp is clear -- then try it again for a few hours instead of overnight and see how it feels?

Is it possible there is something else going on that could be causing this besides the oil? It is hard to image what would cause a 'bruise'.

Super Contributor