Contributor

I am relatively new to using Wen (a month or so) and am loving the results of the conditioning cleanser (I have SAM and CA). I have long, fine hair that is prone to getting oily by the next day. Prior to using Wen, I was using a sulfate-free shampoo/conditioner with pretty good results on how my hair looked, but I'm really trying to find a way to wash my hair less often. The other thing I was doing was a homemade castor oil scalp treatment and argan oil on my ends 1-2 times per week and on those days and the day after, my hair looked GREAT! Super shiny, bouncy and less oily. I'd like to keep doing the castor & argan oil, but I'm worried the Wen won't get it out. I've been shampoo-free for 2 weeks and I'd like to stay that way! Has anybody had any experience washing castor oil out with the conditioning cleanser?? I might just bite the bullet and try it myself this weekend but I'm curious to know if other people do any DIY oil treatments. Eventually I think I'll try the Wen oil but it's not in my budget right now.

Respected Contributor

Re: Castor or Argan oil + Wen

I can't speak about whether it will cleanse out castor oil, because I have never tried it. My guess is yes because the cleansing conditioners cleanse out the Wen oils wonderfully. The Wen oils have Argan oil in them. Maybe someone else that has tried it will chime in here. Good luck.
Smiley Happy Hilary
Wen girl for 10 years!!
Honored Contributor

No, I haven't. Castor oil definitely feels stickier than other oils, but I think it would still work. I've had trouble getting coconut oil out in the past, even with regular shampoo, but WEN has always washed coconut oil out of my hair without problems.