Regular Contributor

Multiple Sclerosis diagnosis

After three MRIs last week my doctor believes I have M.S. She will do a spinal tap on Tuesday to make a more firm diagnosis. Wondering if anyone here has experience with M.S. and can recommend helpful resources, advice, etc.

Honored Contributor

Re: Multiple Sclerosis diagnosis

I have no knowledge of MS but I am wishing you well. (((Pjoy)))
Super Contributor

((((((((((Pjoy))))))))))) Prayers & good wishes.I don't have helpful info but please post a thread in the Health forum too.

Super Contributor

nm

Super Contributor

I will say a prayer for you, and am somewhat surprised that your physician brought this condition up without a definite diagnosis. Knowledge is power, and having gone through several medical semi-catastrophes with my DH, I can tell you that it is a blessing to have the internet to find out information quickly when necessary. Doctors can be extremely helpful, but there is no one you can depend upon except for yourself to care as much as YOU about your own health care. Doctors and their staff have many, many patients to deal with.

Again, I will say a prayer for you. Knowledge is power, and you need to be in charge of your own medical care. If you cannot, I hope you have someone close to you who can help you out. Take care.

In Sunny AZ
Esteemed Contributor

I'm sorry you are facing this diagnosis - I know it must be scary. I have no advice for you--I just wanted to tell you that my sister has had M.S. for over 25 years. It is a very slow progressing kind, and she started a walking exercise program as soon as she was diagnosed. She continued her job as a teacher and retired a few years ago, and is still doing well. She has a problem with one leg, but walks without help, etc. I just thought it might help to know that there are varying degrees of this disease, and maybe you can be hopeful that if it does turn out that you have it, it may not be as bad as you might expect.

Wishing you well...