Designer Fashion Clearance
141 Members and 13740 Guests Online

philosophy

Ingredients in Philosophy products...

Started 1264289878 in philosophy | Last reply 1264397885 by lunamarz_31
I've seen a couple of post where people say they are not buying products until the ingredients issue is settled. Does anyone know what they are referring to?
I'm curious because I've been using Philosophy for the past 8 years and last year I developed an allergic reaction to something. I've had to stop using certain shampoos, soaps etc. and was curious about the comments made by others about ingredients
Thanks in advance
--
Edited by Sfgirl at 01/23/2010 2:38 PM PST

Page 1 of 1
squeezebox12643519815562 PostsRegistered 2/17/2008Land of oz!
Guess the webbie doesn't like us sharing the toxic ingredients in some of philosophy's stuff. I answered this last night and it's poofed.
So....here we go again!
Imidazolidinyl Urea, Diazolidinyl Urea and/or DMDM Hydantoin are the most commonly used cosmetic preservatives after the Parabens. They are just three of the many preservatives that release formaldehyde. Nearly all brands of skin, body and hair care products, antiperspirants, and nail polish found in stores contain formaldehyde releasing ingredients. According to the Mayo Clinic, formaldehyde can irritate the respiratory system, cause skin irritations, and trigger heart palpitations. Exposure to formaldehyde releasing products may also cause allergies, nose congestion, nausea, headaches, dizziness, ear infections, chronic fatigue, depression, asthma, chest pains, and loss of sleep. But more seriously, formaldehyde is toxic to the immune system, a human mutagen, and is carcinogenic.
This ingredient is in:
Purity
HIAJ
AG lotion
AG conditioner
MDP (2nd step)
There might be more than I'm not aware of!
Hope this helps! :-)
--
Edited by squeezebox at 01/24/2010 7:56 AM PST

Last edited on 1/24/2010

A word to the wise ain't necessary - it's the stupid ones that need the advice.