Honored Contributor

My neighbor made a comment that surprised me ...... {#emotions_dlg.glare}

She said if my dog is a squirrel chaser, it will never be compatible with a kitty cat ..... that it's a "predator" and it will never accept a cat in the home.

Is this true? {#emotions_dlg.confused1}

What's your experience with bringing a cat into a dog's home? {#emotions_dlg.confused1}

Valued Contributor

Re: DOG AND CAT COMPATIBILITY

It's never been an issue in our family. We have often had dogs and cats at the same time and they weren't necessarily raised together. I'm no expert, but I think a lot of it is going to depend of the personalities of the dog and cat in question, how the introductions are made.

I don't know if the squirrel thing is true, I suppose it would depend on the prey drive in the dog. Most dogs (in my experience) are able to differentiate between who belongs in their house and yard and who doesn't and while they might chase a squirrel, they wouldn't chase a cat who is member of the household.

I really think it comes down to personality and how you've handled and trained your dog. There are some very experienced dog people on these boards who I'm sure will answer. We were just ordinary dog owners who must have lucked into some truly wonderful dogs - they were all fun and trustworthy and we didn't do anything beyond ordinary obedience training. They were all mutts and all medium/large dogs with one exception - lab mixes, german shepherd mixes and one terrier/poodle mix who was the best mouser we ever hadSmile

Honored Contributor