Super Contributor

We took in two kittens who were born in our yard, it took a while, but they have become BFFs with the cat we already had. There were never any serious issues between them, just typical 'squabbles'. Fast forward 5 years. A stray was hanging around work, trying to get in whenever the doors opened. You could see his bones and he was limping. I took him, not so we could have another cat, but so he could have a better life. No one wanted him, so we kept him. He was gentle for two weeks, then became aggressive with our other cats. I'm guessing he is young because he is small, so maybe he will grow out of it. We had him neutered, but it hasn't calmed him down. We've had him for two months. Any ideas how we can stop him from swatting at the other cats every time he sees them? Also, he seems to be addicted to food, perhaps because he was starving. Have you experienced this with your cats? Thanks!

Trusted Contributor

I am not a cat expert, but I do have two cats and a dog in our household. Both of the cats were rescues (at different times). Might I suggest Feliway cat diffuser? It is a plug in diffuser that helps calm cats. I used it when we brought the second cat into our home. I don't know if you can keep the newer little guy separated from the others for a while until he gets better acclimated. Poor fellow must be frightened still, and like you said, he may be hungry or he is testing the waters that there WILL be food available for him. I would feed him in very small portions throughout the day. If it is canned food, maybe 1-2 tsp. every couple of hours or so.

My cats are now 17 and 6. Are they best friends? No, but they tolerate each other and I see that everyone get attention. Now, the older cat and my dog seem to be the best friends! Go figure!

Good luck with your kitty and hope he settles in. I have found the Feliway diffusers on Amazon and also at PetsMart. Thank you for giving him a home.

Honored Contributor