Back-in-Stock Fashions
14 Members and 11295 Guests Online

Pet Lovers

Is it bad for a dog to eat cat food?

Started 1381584434.42 in Pet Lovers | Last reply 1382569215.3 by kingtut

We have a 10 year old yorkie. He's very healthy and still acts like a puppy.

We also have 3 cats. We feed the cats canned and dry food (Eukanuba Hairball control) and our dog gets Eukanuba dry

Our dog likes the dry cat food. He's constantly eating their food. I think that he is being bossy, but he likes it. Is there any harm feeding him the cat food instead of dog food?

Sometimes I catch Nauti (a cat), eating the dog food. They all are healthy, so does it matter?

God is Great, Beer is Good and People are Crazy.

Page 1 of 1
mima1381584602.4314548 PostsRegistered 10/19/2004KS

I have no firsthand experience, but I have read it isn't good. Their needs are different such as fat content, etc.

Mima

luvpoos1381587537.6536051 PostsRegistered 5/3/2006Kingston Ma

I don't have a cat, but I don't think I would recommend it either. They each have different needs. You might want to talk with your vet about his opinion on this the next time you are there.

you can't always get what you want, but if you try sometime, well you just might find, that you get what you need...The Rolling Stones

JeanLouise­Finch1381595232.9311143 PostsRegistered 10/3/2011

Are you sure your dog "likes" the cat food or is he just being a dog (no impulse control)? Dogs will usually eat anything they can get anytime they can get it whereas cats will nibble off and on throughout the day.