Super Contributor

I DON'T WANT TO RETIRE. ANYONE ELSE?

I turned 61 this year and so started thinking about retiring from my job in about 4 years and I realized, I don't think I will ever want to retire. My job is stressful but I love it (child support enforcement). I have a great boss (the county Prosecutor) and I like my co workers. Money isn't really the issue because I will have a good pension if I retire in 4 years.I am not good with leisure time. My husband is already retired but he is good at entertaining himself. I don't want to travel. I have grand kids but I get to see them quite a bit already. My boss has made it clear that he doesn't want me to retire, ever, lol. Just curious- does anyone else feel this way about retirement?

Honored Contributor

Re: I DON'T WANT TO RETIRE. ANYONE ELSE?

Most days I feel like I'll work for as long as possible. My daughter says I'll never retire because I'm a workaholic. I, too enjoy my job.

Fate whispers to her, "You cannot withstand the storm." She whispers back, "I am the storm."

Super Contributor

If you love working and love your job you are very fortunate. I hated my job of 24 years and was so glad to leave it. Love retirement....no time clock, do what I want when I want, no one to report to, I can dress however I please.
Respected Contributor

Oh, I so love my job as well. I imagine I will work as long as I am able. I should pay them {#emotions_dlg.biggrin}

Honored Contributor

My neighbor owns a florist shop. She is at least 86 years old and works 6 days a week. She leaves at 7AM and comes home at 5PM (except for Thursdays and Fridays, when she works even later, getting ready for weddings).

She is never going to retire and loves her life.

I never plan on retiring either.

Respected Contributor

My husband will never retire. I probably won't retire, but will be part time.

If I hit the lottery and could travel constantly, then yes I would retire.

Respected Contributor