Valued Contributor

Fight Baiting, How Do You Handle?

We have all been there. You know the situation...a friend, co worker etc is having a bad day and instead of just admitting it, they pick/bait a fight. Anyway, this happened to me the other day and it got me to thinking about how do most people handle this? What are your thoughts.

Trusted Contributor

Re: Fight Baiting, How Do You Handle?

If the person is having bad day, I leave them alone. Just like I want people to leav eem alone if I am having a bad day.

Respected Contributor

I must live in la-la-land. No coworker has ever picked a fight with me, and I've been working in one form or another since 1977! If I were in this situation, I think I'd just excuse myself and get the heck out of there.

-- pro-aging --

Rochester, New York
Occasional Contributor

I have a supervisor who does this constantly. I just steer clear and only talk to her if it is about work and if I have to right then. I try not to let myself rise to her bait and if I am just polite and let her get over her mood, she usually does

Valued Contributor

Thanks for your input. I agree that letting the person ""get over it"" is best. I am still not working at not taking it personal but that is improving.

Super Contributor

An old southern saying: "don't bite the bait." I try to add distance or just not answer, if possible. Time and space seem to help.

Trusted Contributor

On 4/8/2014 Peaches McPhee said:

I must live in la-la-land. No coworker has ever picked a fight with me, and I've been working in one form or another since 1977! If I were in this situation, I think I'd just excuse myself and get the heck out of there.

I think I live in your la-la-land too. I started working in 1968 and no one ever picked a fight with me or any of my friends. I did see two surgeons get into a fight once but that is a whole different situation.

Super Contributor