Regular Contributor

Hunter Green -- can a "winter" wear it?

I'm still fairly new to Linea (started purchasing this summer) and I've purchased several basics in navy, black, and charcoal grey which are good colours for me. As a "winter", I look best in primary colours (black, white, navy, red, etc) and in jewel tones (emerald, sapphire blue, ruby) but horrible in muted shades. I know that I cannot wear anything olive but I'm wondering about Hunter Green. Can I wear hunter green against my face?

Your input is appreciated!

Valued Contributor

Re: Hunter Green -- can a ""winter"" wear it?

I am a winter and wear hunter green. As long as it is a blue based green (dark) go for it!

There is no fun in doing nothing when you have nothing to do.
Trusted Contributor

How does one find a consultant to determine what season you are? I suspect I'm a winter (Irish ancestry, pale skin with pink undertones, dark hair) but am not really sure.

Respected Contributor

Yes, you can wear this hunter green. I am a "burnished winter" and I just bought the turtleneck (older style) to wear as a layering piece. Somewhere, I can't recall if it was on his blog or on the air, Louis explained the two dark greens in his palette this fall:

Hunter green - dark green with a blue undertone

Olive - dark green with a brown undertone.

Louis differentiated his olive from many other renditions of the color, saying that they are often yellow-based but his is brown-based.

And PilatesLover, the whole thing about determining your most flattering color palette based upon using the seasons as a guide was a 1980s thing. It was called Color Me Beautiful. I don't know if that concept is still around as a franchised consultant business.

Regular Contributor

Cookie, thank you for your feedback (my wallet isn't so thrilled{#emotions_dlg.lol}) -- it helps my decision about several Linea tops.