Frequent Contributor

Ham and Bean Soup:Pressure Cooker

I'm going to make Ham and Bean soup for the first time tomorrow and I'm making it in my TSV pressure cooker. I'm new to pressure cooking, but so far so good with what I have made. I'm soaking my beans first, great northerns, I bought a boneless turkey ham, adding onion, celery, and carrots. I do hope it turns out as good as I'm hoping. I'm making either corn bread or a loaf of bread in the bread maker to go with it. It's going to be our lunch and dinner (if it's good). I'm thinking I need to cook it for 30 minutes and let it depress naturally. Should that be about right?

Respected Contributor

Re: Ham and Bean Soup:Pressure Cooker

I am at our weekend place and I don't have my PC cookbooks with me, but just to be on the safe side-not that there is much you can do terribly wrong aside from not adding enough liquid- it never hurts to Google, especially if this is your own recipe. I have made bean soup many times, and your method sounds right: the only thing I would do differently is a quick release. Allegedly if you let the pressure come down on its own, it creates foam. One other thing I do is Saute the onions, then brow the turkey ham just a little-known can be done in your PC. Poodlepet
Super Contributor

Nicnacsmommy, I don't have any suggestions about how to use the pressure cooker. (I'm scared of them after seeing my parents' pressure cooker blow food all over the kitchen.) I know they don't do that anymore. I just had one suggestion for the next time you make ham and bean soup. Trying using the 15 bean hambeans. There is a little package of ham flavoring in there, but I always add ham too. It turns out just awesome!

Enjoy your soup!

Some people do drugs. I do shoes....Celine Dion
Regular Contributor