Regular Contributor

ANOTHER PERSPECTIVE ON THE HIGH PRICES

Believe it or not, I am sometimes happy to see the exorbitantly high prices on the new items for the following reasons: 1) I have been collecting JR for 7 years & have a huge collection, & when I see what I have bought years ago for the much lower prices then, I am thrilled by what I own, & thrilled that I bought as much as I did. Those feelings have eradicated any past feelings of guilt that may have lingered. I probably should have bought even more! 2) When the prices are SO far from what I expected them to be, I have no trouble deciding not to buy. Case in point: the apatite suite. With the cuff at over $1,000 & the ring at $832 & the earrings at God-knows-what, probably the whole suite will be over $3,000 & that doesn't even include an enhancer! If the cuff had been $500.00 & the ring $300.00, I would be torturing myself with those feelings of push-pull: got to have it, spending too much money,will regret later not buying it, will regret spending so much money later, etc. etc. etc. But at these prices, the decision is REAL easy & I know I won't look back.

My JR buying strategy has taken a 180 degree turn. When the new items used to be presented, I would find reasons why I absolutely HAD TO HAVE certain items. Now the first thing I do when I see the new items is try to find reasons why I don't need them, e.g. the price, item is too close to what I already have, earrings that don't have the omega backs, stones that don't have the silver backing, etc. I did cave on the multi-gemstone & spinel cuff because I don't have anything like that & it blew me away, the amethyst & black spinel earrings because I have a black/purple suite, & the garnet earrings because I have the old garnet necklace that so many ripkanistas regret not having gotten. I have managed to talk myself out of the new watch, the frog pin which is cute beyond belief, & the pink MOP pieces & the apatite pieces.