Respected Contributor

Preparing soil for vegetable garden

Help, all you garden experts, I have another question.

I have been planting tomatoes, cucumbers and peppers every year but for some reason I am getting a poorer crop every year. I always use organic garden soil (or potting soil for pots), add some lime to the tomatoes and even add tomato food. Where I used to have lots of nice, healthy cuks, I have only a few. they seem to die out in the heat of the summer. My peppers start out nice and also die out. What am I doing wrong? Should I be adding humus peat moss to the soil? I do water consistently. It seems that since I have been using the organic soil for the past three years, my vegies do not seem to be doing as well as before. Also, I add manure to the soil.

Contributor

Re: Preparing soil for vegetable garden

I planted a garden last year for the first time ever! I used to have ducks and made them a pond 8' x 8' so we drained that. Then we added some dry horse manure that we had gotten from one of our neighbors. Now the duck pen has become a chicken pen, so I raked up all of that and added it to the horse manure and raked it all together. Let me tell you, I had the largest zucchini I have ever seen in my life! We also had planted the cherry tomatoes, and regular squash that just kept growing. I made fried zucchini until it was coming out of our ears!

This year I am planting Kale, Zucchini, Watermelon, and Cucumbers. We will see how that goes!

Honored Contributor

First a question. Are you growing them in pots, or in the soil? That's important to know and from your first post I'm not sure of the answer as you speak of using "potting soil for pots."