Valued Contributor

Hi All,

I bought two Peonies this Spring and planted them in a spot that gets some hot sun during the day, maybe half and half. They didn't do very well at all. One of them bloomed as it had beautiful blossoms when I purchased it but the other with lots of big buds, the buds just dried up and died? Help. Where in my garden should they be planted? Any help at all would be appreciated. You could say google it, but sometimes that advice isn't very clear or isn't what I want to know.

PS I am an avid gardener and all my other plants are doing well so this one has me stumped

{#emotions_dlg.wub}

Honored Contributor

Re: I need a Peonies expert??

I am no expert with peonies, but have seen with my own plants that it takes several years for them to get established. My plants also receive full mid and late day sun, and are planted on a covered ditch line where they have the ability to draw plenty of moisture through their roots. I personally would not move the plants, but give them another year to acclimate. If the plants are green and growing, that is the important sign the plants are happy, and you will likely see a better showing of blooms next year. It is not unusual to buy beautiful plants in full bud, and those buds drop once planted. Be patient.
Valued Contributor

I'm not an expert but I have many peonies.

The first thing I will say is that they are very picky or can be extremely picky. They need to be happy.Wink

But once they find that happy place, you'll be so happy with them.

Mine are in full sun. As far as the happy place, you may have to move it a time or two. You'll know when it's happy.

Another thought, sun through tree limbs and leaves may not be enough. They do like sun.

They do not like their "feet" too deep.

If they were newly potted when you bought them, most of their strength went to building up a root system.

Just a few thoughts that may help you in your quest for these spring beauties.

Good Luck!!

Trusted Contributor