Valued Contributor

Another Hydrangea Q: Two in large outside pots haven't flowered for years!

Hi Ladies,

The other thread about potential fungus on Hydrangea leaves made me realize that I have my own hydrangea Q.

About 8 years ago I was given two beautiful hydrangea. I replanted into large pots in my garden. We cut them back every fall, and in the summer, like, right about now, the leaves themselves are glorious--huge, bright green leaves. However, they haven't flowered in many years, probably 5-6. The green of the leaves is really quite pretty and I haven't done anything to them to make them bloom, or even looked into it. But b/c I am not an expert, I dunno what I've done wrong OR if there's anything I can do to have these gorgeous plants bloom again.

Anyone?

TIA{#emotions_dlg.biggrin}

Honored Contributor

Re: Another Hydrangea Q: Two in large outside pots haven't flowered for years!

On 6/23/2014 glmama said:

Hi Ladies,

The other thread about potential fungus on Hydrangea leaves made me realize that I have my own hydrangea Q.

About 8 years ago I was given two beautiful hydrangea. I replanted into large pots in my garden. We cut them back every fall, and in the summer, like, right about now, the leaves themselves are glorious--huge, bright green leaves. However, they haven't flowered in many years, probably 5-6. The green of the leaves is really quite pretty and I haven't done anything to them to make them bloom, or even looked into it. But b/c I am not an expert, I dunno what I've done wrong OR if there's anything I can do to have these gorgeous plants bloom again.

Anyone?

TIA{#emotions_dlg.biggrin}

Two reasons for why no blooms-- first: do NOT prune in fall! You are removing the buds they have set after they flowered! If any flowers do form, hydrangeas should be pruned right after they flower.