TSV(R) Preview
112 Members and 15623 Guests Online

In the Garden

Winterizing Hibiscus potted plants

Started 1379454949.577 in In the Garden | Last reply 1379515887.117 by Tulips4U
replies

I live in zone 5 (suburbs of Chicago). I have 2 really healthy potted hibiscus plants, one potted Hibiscus tree and 2 little braided hibiscus in the ground that I would like to try and bring in and save. I have never done this before because it just seemed like too much trouble. I dont really have anywhere to put them and that is the problem. How do you winterize? I have an unfinished basement with one window, however there is not alot of light down there. Would they survive without alot of light??? Would they survive in the garage?

I would appreciate any input...

Page 1 of 1
JustJazzmom1379468956.49728294 PostsRegistered 11/12/2007My garden, of course!!

The important thing is to water it once a month during the winter. The lack of light will cause the hibiscus to go dormant and drop leaves. Then around May start bringing the plant into a lighted area during the day (outdoors-- but keep it under the shade of a tree). Then in the evening bring it indoors. Do this for a week or so to get the plant used to the warmer weather and the extra light. When watering, allow the soil to dry completely between waterings. Check with your finger in the soil for wet or dry conditions.

Once all danger of frost in your area has passed, put the hibiscuses out for the summer.

Remember, since the hibiscuses are in containers, you will have to increase the watering to them especially if the temps are high and the weather is hot. The air around the containers, causes the containers to dry out much faster than if the plants were in the ground.

☼The best place to seek God is in a garden. You can dig for him there. GBShaw☼

stevieb1379469228.74730840 PostsRegistered 11/4/2007
On 9/17/2013 JustJazzmom said: