Super Contributor

The Total Gym lady has to stop saying "The best way to flatten your abdomen is to do abdominal exercises."

That is just not true. The fat over your abdomen is not owned by you abdomen. Cardio is the only way to burn fat...and you body will burn the fat from where ever it sees fit.

By building your abdominal muscles you will only 'look' fatter without doing cardio.

Jeesh! They will saying anything to sell stuff.

Trusted Contributor

True

Super Contributor
Radimage--you are so right, in my opinion. I was an aerobics instructor for over 20 yrs and repeatedly told class participants that we cannot spot reduce. Period! Cardio + strength training is the best way to go!
Trusted Contributor
Despite what some exersise programs say and what some people believe ... you cannot spot reduce. Eat less, move more. It will work for most people who choose/able to do the work.
Frequent Contributor

It is true that you can't spot reduce, but if you build a strong core (abs) your abs will get more defined and they will actually looked more pulled in - fat or no fat People don't end up with 6 pack abs just by doing cardio- you have to work those muscles

Valued Contributor

There is some truth to "abs are made in the kitchen". Better yet let's say, "Abs are made in the gym and revealed in the kitchen".. I.e.- you must work the abdominal muscles to build them, but you also must eat smarter to show them off!{#emotions_dlg.biggrin}

Not applicable

Plus Total Gym is a system for your whole body, strength and cardio and nutrition plan included. Its not just an ab machine.

Honored Contributor
On 1/4/2015 radimage said:

The Total Gym lady has to stop saying "The best way to flatten your abdomen is to do abdominal exercises."

That is just not true. The fat over your abdomen is not owned by you abdomen. Cardio is the only way to burn fat...and you body will burn the fat from where ever it sees fit.