Valued Contributor

Oh my goodness. I am finally coming out from under the worst flu I can remember. Last Thursday, for 7 hrs., violent upper and lower track flu. Low grade fever for two days. Then, on the second day, body covered in a bright red rash....EVERYWHERE. The skin on my cheeks, where the rash was on my face, began to peel off. I went to the doc and he said it was all part of the virus I had. Now, 5 days later, the rash is beginning to fade. I still am not 100%, fade by afternoon and need to sleep. I honestly think I had an allergic reaction to the flu virus! Has anyone out there ever had a rash with the flu??? And yes....I had the super duper flu shot for those of us over 65. {#emotions_dlg.sad}

Respected Contributor

Re: Worst Flu I Have Ever Had

It's probably the shot itself that caused it and not the flu.

Valued Contributor

Oh my gosh! I had the shot in October. Can it have that effect 2.5 mo. later??

Frequent Contributor

I'm an emergency room nurse and I can tell you the flu is out early this year and with a vengeance. The rash you are experiencing is most likely fifth disease and is viral in nature.

Respected Contributor

I'm sorry you were so sick and I wish you better days ahead! BTW I don't understand the draw of the flu shot. I just don't get it...
Valued Contributor

On 12/22/2014 va603 said:

I'm an emergency room nurse and I can tell you the flu is out early this year and with a vengeance. The rash you are experiencing is most likely fifth disease and is viral in nature.

Thank you va603. I will look that up. Will I get better?

Valued Contributor

On 12/22/2014 ednapsych said:
On 12/22/2014 va603 said:

Thank you va603. I will look that up. Will I get better?

Just read up on it. That is exactly what I have!! At least now I know. Bad news is it can last 3 weeks Smiley Sad.

Super Contributor

On 12/22/2014 ednapsych said:

Oh my gosh! I had the shot in October. Can it have that effect 2.5 mo. later??

No, it can't.
Esteemed Contributor