Esteemed Contributor

If you practice yoga, how do you describe the effect on your well-being? In an attempt to heal spinal discomfort due to medically diagnosed conditions, I have just started learning. I find that it elevates my mood and has reduced imbalance and pain in my gait. My physical therapist recommended it, and I find that I wish I had started long ago.

Cogito ergo sum
Respected Contributor
I have thought about taking a yoga class but they are always in the evenings and last for 2 hours - not sure if as a beginner I could handle 2hrs. What do you Ladies think a.m. Or p.m. Best? And length of class. Thanks.
Esteemed Contributor
On 11/25/2014 dulwich said: I have thought about taking a yoga class but they are always in the evenings and last for 2 hours - not sure if as a beginner I could handle 2hrs. What do you Ladies think a.m. Or p.m. Best? And length of class. Thanks.

I consider myself a beginner and a 2 hour class would be two much for me. My instructor always says you know your body more than I do so take a break at any time. I would either try to find a one hour or even DVD's and go at your own pace. As far as time I like a.m.

Wrong is still wrong just because you benefited from it.
Super Contributor
Do you think they have yoga classes for people with arthritis?
Esteemed Contributor

AnnaBella, I have arthritis in my back, and that is why I am learning the practice of yoga. I can't do nearly what some can, but in my world, small steps make a difference.

Cogito ergo sum
Frequent Contributor
I do Hatha Yoga; a mix of physical stretching and breathing control. It helps with my stiff, sore back muscles and lung power for endurance running. I have done a lot of marathons, which have taken its toll on my body, and I have had a spinal procedure for a tumor pressing against it. So, yes yoga is good for a number of reasons. Namaste.
Trusted Contributor