Valued Contributor

Will you please share your thoughts on kettlebells? What brand or set do you recommend? It seems like there are a few different ones.

I have never tried it before.

Is it helpful for your back?

Thanks!

Super Contributor

Re: Kettle bell recommendations

OMG - I'm almost sorry to post your thread because I can't answer your questions! But I just had to come on here to comment about the latest Men's Heath magazine. Tim Mcgraw is featured, and there is an amazing photo of him working out with a kettle bell. (I had actually never heard of them before this.) That man looks good doing those kettle bell presses, for sure!!!

LOL - I hope you get some responses that might actually help you out here!

Honored Contributor

I found that the kettleballs caused me neck and shoulder issues and had to stop using them and if I didn't do the moves exactly right, my back would hurt.

Honored Contributor

I us them at the gym. They are all basically the same...I don't think one type is better than another.

Just make sure you start out slow and follow the tape.

I would practice doing a lot of squats w/o the weights. In fact, if you don't work out much now, I would do squats for a few weeks, make sure you put your weight on your heels.

Many kettlebell exercises are squats with weights. Don't use heavy (20-25 lbs) weights until you know what you are doing.

It's a great, very aerobic exercise when done correctly. You'll be working your legs, your core (which will make your back stronger) and your arms...everything!

Honored Contributor

Not really a squat in the traditional sense, but a hip hinge. No way you could get the explosive hip thrust when you're in a squat position.