Super Contributor

I want to stop eating out !!!

I have kicked other strongholds such as shopping, diet coke, candy,...

We need to stop eating out for finance and health.

Who has done this and suggestions on how to kick this habit.

We have cut back, but this month were on vacation, and ate out a lot.

Do I need to go cold turkey? Not eat out at all?

Super Contributor

Re: I want to stop eating out !!!

Gosh, I worked in the restaurant industry for years and the filth and gross things that go on in the kitchen and to the food you eat would turn your stomach if you only knew. I will not eat out knowing what I know! I have not eaten out for at least 20 years...I love eating healthy food I make at home, and save lots of money!
Super Contributor

On 4/20/2014 gazelle77 said: Gosh, I worked in the restaurant industry for years and the filth and gross things that go on in the kitchen and to the food you eat would turn your stomach if you only knew. I will not eat out knowing what I know! I have not eaten out for at least 20 years...I love eating healthy food I make at home, and save lots of money!

I know this has to be so true. It only makes sense, restaurants hire just about anybody. When I was younger we rarely ate out, and my Mom said sit with your back to the kitchen.

Respected Contributor

I know when we were first married, both working all day, and no kids, we ate out a lot. I guess I don't see what's so difficult about NOT eating out if you don't want to. There's no reason to go cold turkey and not eat out at all. It sounds like you're eating out most nights? So make a menu for the week, go to the store and get the ingredients. It doesn't have to be anything fancy. Only eat out once or twice for a start.
Honored Contributor

My husband wanted to eat out at least 4 times a week. Nothing could change his mind. I brought my own salad dressing, and ordered something broiled.

♥Surface of the Sun♥
Esteemed Contributor