Esteemed Contributor

If you need to hire a care agency~

Please don't hire a Care agency that doesn't take out your caregiver's taxes. They call us self employed, which is a joke!! We pay 15% on the taxes they withheld! I had no coverage, of any kind. This is all to the advantage of the agency. I doubt anyone would want to know that their loved one's caregiver was not only underpaid, but the agency makes twice the amount they charge, maybe more. I was misled by other claims as well..I have been doing this for several years, this last agency was the last, and the worst! I won't be doing caregiving anymore. I now know why so many are quitting! Its a thankless job, sometimes we're treated as servants! I did this job because I WAS compassionate and being trained in Nursing, it was my job to help others. So sad, that these agencies that portray themselves as caring are just the opposite. I really needed to vent. I had my taxes done yesterday and I've been upset ever since. In the past I have worked for other agencies that ARE caring and they take care of their employees, just do your homework. I wish I had! Ask for referrals from previous clients, what their caregivers are paid, their coverage etc. Thanks for letting me vent! I feel I've been abused..my accountant agreed..he said its all about the money~

Don't cry for a man who's left you--the next one may fall for your smile.
-- Mae West
Esteemed Contributor

Re: If you need to hire a care agency~

n/m

Don't cry for a man who's left you--the next one may fall for your smile.
-- Mae West
Respected Contributor

Why does it state ""happy housewife"" last reply but I don't see her reply?

Trusted Contributor