Honored Contributor

What's on trend besides black plastic eyeglass frames?

I'm due for glasses in January after my second cataract surgery, so I bought some black plastic readers to check out the look. I don't like it on me at all, 69, highlighted blonde with fair skin, and they are just overwhelming. I've been wearing wire frames for something like 15 years now and I feel so dated. Is there another alternative that looks somewhat in style?

Honored Contributor

Re: What's on trend besides black plastic eyeglass frames?

Try a burgandy frame it will bring light to your face

Stop being afraid of what could go wrong and start being positive what could go right.
Respected Contributor

I was at the optical shop owned by my Eye Surgeon just yesterday. I was looking for a light colored frame like I already have, and they were out of it. I saw a few of the black frames and asked the tech if they were popular. Her answer was that only a very few people looked at them, most people wanted lighter colored frames or light wire frames. She laughed and said one woman with pink hair bought a pair a week or so ago. And she did say that some men like the black frames over the dark brown ones.

There's no way I would buy black frames - especially not after seeing Lori G.

She also mentioned that frames seem to be getting larger lately.

Super Contributor

Funny you should ask. I went in for eye exam and new glasses yesterday. I don't do trends ... but there is just about anything you want out there at all price ranges. I like designer frames and since I only replace them every two years ... it's worth the price for me.

I go to a private optometrist rather than a chain because I have a particular preference for lenses that the chains can't or won't order for me. And ... I ONLY wear plastic frames because metal frames can't accommodate my lenses.