Respected Contributor

O/T Just for Fun..Think back - What was your very FIRST job (paid by check)

I'm a 20+ year teacher and have been getting some back to school supplies ready for the children. Upon looking at a box of Elmer's Glue bottles, I began to remember (with a chuckle) my very first "paying" job.

It was summer right after I graduated from high school and I was 17 years old. Mattel Toy Company opened a factory a few miles from my house, and I was preparing to go to college in the Fall but wanted some "summer" money to spend. So, I applied at Mattel for an office job. They didn't have an office job available, but said I could work in the factory section. Without hesitating, I said Yes! I was put on a "glue machine" contraption that glued large toy truck labels on boxes. There were gobs of glue all over the floor area that I had to stand on, and I had to literally jump into a glued pair of open back shoes to work on the machine. When I had to leave the area, I had to jump a few feet to the right or left, in my socks, to get clear of the glue and to get where my own shoes were.

Needless to say, the job only lasted a few months before I left for college. I did make a few extra dollars, so my goal was met. But to this day, every time I see a glue stick or bottle I have a private laugh to myself.

Anyone else care are to share your first job experience?

Cinderella is proof that a new pair of shoes can change your life!
Respected Contributor

Re: O/T Just for Fun..Think back - What was your very FIRST job (paid by check)

I worked in a bank part-time starting freshman year in college! I ended up staying there through school and then worked full-time for a while.....5 1/2 years total before moving on.

Respected Contributor

Bank Teller
Honored Contributor