Super Contributor

I Did It and I'm So Not A Techie!!

I just hooked up my Canon Laser Printer! I only had to call Office Max once because I couldn't find out how to start the installation after inputting the disk. I am not tech savvy. But, it prints and copies!!

I got a real good deal at Office Max... an all in one laser for $119.99 It was an $80 savings from all the rest of retail. I also got him to match the toner price at Staples, and that saved me $25.

I'm currently out of work and my darn HP ink jet was not working. I have had it with ink jets! This is a nice laser and I doubt I'll be printing 2400 pages very soon, so the toner should last long.

I'm just proud of little 'ol me doing it and facing my fear!

I do have to say, I had to buy a USB connector (it's a shame it doesn't come with one) but the Belkin they sold me said 3" and it wasn't even 2.5"! I had to move around tables to get the printer closer. I can always return it for a longer one, but more money of course. I just can't believe they sold that one as 3"!

Anyway, just had to share my excitement with you all. I am not a computer person and am actually scared of them. But I needed a printer to print resumes and job hunting materials. I kept putting it off, but the deal was too good to pass up and the printer had excellent reviews online. I can now save on making copies at UPS!

Now, if I could just find the perfect job. I got laid off of a job I worked at for 20 years. It was a merger and us long timers were let go. It's so not fair.

Honored Contributor

Re: I Did It and I'm So Not A Techie!!

Good for you! I not a techie either so I know how you feel. I also got a new printer and hooked it up myself. I had a brother (he passed away) and he would do everything for me without my even trying. It's funny what you can accomplish when you have to. I say it might take me longer than someone else but I do eventually get there. Congrats again!
Super Contributor

Thanks jordan...